Le carrefour des enseignants

Le magazine pour croiser vos idées en éducation de la petite enfance

L'importance de considérer les tâches mathématiques

que nous posons aux jeunes enfants

09/2018

Importance des tâches mathématiques

 

Des recherches récentes de l'étude internationale PISA ont montré que la compréhension des mathématiques par les élèves influence les possibilités de scolarisation future ainsi que des emplois mieux rémunérés et plus gratifiants (OCDE, 2013). Les experts en mathématiques ont écrit que les étudiants qui maîtrisent les mathématiques peuvent démontrer une compréhension conceptuelle, une maîtrise de la procédure et des compétences en résolution de problèmes (Conseil national des enseignants de mathématiques, 2014). Dans plusieurs pays, les normes et les recommandations en matière de mathématiques incitent les participants à poser des tâches mathématiques plus complexes dans des contextes réels (Commission européenne, 2011; Ministère de l'éducation, 2011; Mullis, Martin et Loveless, 2016; Conseil national des enseignants de Mathématiques, 2014). Aux États-Unis, les experts en enseignement des mathématiques (N CTM, 2014; Smith et Stein, 1998) classent les tâches en deux grandes catégories en fonction de leur rigueur ou de leur niveau de demande cognitive. Dans chaque catégorie, il existe deux types de tâches plus spécifiques. Celles-ci sont décrites en détail dans le tableau ci- dessous.

 

Tableau 1: Types de tâches mathématiques

 

Exemples de tâches mathématiques

 

 

Exemple de comptage et de cardinalité

 

L'un des concepts les plus fondamentaux pour les jeunes enfants implique des compétences en comptage et en cardinalité. Les tâches qui intègrent des attributs de nombre en intégrant des tâches réelles et des concepts de mesure et de géométrie avec le comptage et la cardinalité aident à augmenter la demande cognitive des tâches. Une de ces tâches pour le comptage et la cardinalité expose les élèves à utiliser un raisonnement mathématique pour justifier le nombre de dinosaures dans une image cachée (voir la figure 1).

 

Figure 1: Exemple de tâche de creusage de dinosaures

 

Les enseignants peuvent lancer la tâche en affichant rapidement l'image du dinosaure (Figure 1). L'enseignant peut demander aux élèves de prédire le nombre de dinosaures sur la photo en se basant sur la photo des 8 pieds fournis. En plus de l'image des pieds de dinosaures, l'enseignant pourrait également demander aux élèves de construire l'image avec des dinosaures jouets, des bâtons wiki ou des cubes. Une fois que les élèves ont prédit la quantité de dinosaures dans l'image, les élèves pourront parler de leur prédiction avant de les laisser explorer la tâche.

 

Au fur et à mesure que les élèves explorent la tâche, l'enseignant devrait inciter les élèves à les encourager à travailler avec d'autres élèves et à discuter de stratégies pour déterminer le nombre de pattes de dinosaures. La manière dont les élèves s’expriment et représentent l’image est le tremplin de la discussion mathématique après le temps à explorer. Discuter des stratégies et des solutions des élèves est un élément essentiel de l'apprentissage et aide les enseignants à déterminer s'ils ont développé une compréhension plus approfondie des concepts mathématiques. Au cours de la discussion de cette tâche, l'enseignant doit poser des questions sur la manière dont les élèves ont commencé la tâche, comment ils ont compté le nombre de jambes et comment ils savent que leur réponse est logique. Après avoir éventuellement regroupé les objets en paires de jambes ou les avoir comptés un par un, l'enseignant peut choisir de donner aux élèves une seconde photo comportant plus de dix jambes ou un problème tel qu'un agriculteur a vu 10 jambes. Il avait 1 canard et des cochons. Combien de cochons avait-il? Les enseignants devraient continuer à encourager les élèves à explorer les nombres, de manière à ce que la subdivision devienne un processus plus naturel et utilise un questionnement ouvert pour que des niveaux plus élevés de réflexion tels que la création et la connexion soient appliqués.

 

Après que deux ou trois élèves ont expliqué comment les pieds se trouvaient dans l’image, l’enseignant peut poser des questions à toute la classe, par exemple: «Pouvez-vous utiliser des mots et un langage mathématique pour expliquer ce que vous avez fait? Votre réponse a-t-elle du sens? » Lorsque l'enseignant pose la question au nombre de jambes aux élèves, c'est à ce moment-là que le calcul et la cardinalité deviennent le point de mire. Ils peuvent commencer à compter par jambes individuelles ou par groupes de deux. La question «Expliquez comment vous savez que vous avez raison» encourage les jeunes apprenants à réfléchir profondément au nombre d'objets et au contexte.

 

Rejoindre et briser des groupes d'objets

 

              Les jeunes apprenants ont besoin d’expériences sur la façon de joindre (composer) ou de séparer (décomposer) des nombres et des groupes d’objets. Un exemple d'une tâche consiste à travailler avec des éléments similaires (par exemple, des cubes, des blocs, des bâtons de glace) dans le but d'ajouter des objets dans des groupes. Pour commencer, l'enseignant donne les instructions aux élèves: ajoutez les objets en utilisant des groupes (2, 5 ou 10, par exemple) pour atteindre la somme totale. Tout en ajoutant, les élèves devraient porter une attention particulière à la façon dont ils regroupent les objets. Une fois que les élèves ont compté leurs objets en les regroupant, la partie clé de la tâche suivante consiste à dessiner une représentation visuelle de leur processus de composition numérique sur une feuille de papier à l'aide d'images et de symboles. Les différentes représentations que les élèves dessinent, appuyées par des explications sur leurs processus de pensée, peuvent mener à une riche discussion mathématique en tant que classe sur les différentes manières de composer des nombres. Pour inciter les élèves à partager, l'enseignant peut poser des questions telles que pourquoi avez-vous choisi cette stratégie de regroupement ? Que signifie cela (en montrant la représentation)? Après que deux ou trois élèves se soient partagés, l'enseignant peut poser des questions de suivi à l'ensemble de la classe, ce qui peut approfondir la compréhension des élèves, y compris comment ces stratégies (représentations) sont-elles efficaces ? Comment sont-ils différents? Ou qui peut expliquer la stratégie de (nom de)?

 

Une variante de cette même tâche peut également être utilisée pour séparer ou décomposer des nombres. Après avoir décomposé la pile originale en groupes, demandez aux élèves de classer les contenus d'une manière qui leur convient (certains élèves peuvent les aligner ou les mettre par groupes de deux, par exemple). La disposition des contenants par les élèves et les explications sur la fabrication des sens peuvent mener à une discussion riche semblable à la première activité. Au cours de la discussion, l'enseignant devrait être attentif à saisir ces idées et à les traduire en langage mathématique et en symboles (pour les enfants plus âgés). Encourager les étudiants à explorer des moyens de rejoindre et de diviser les effectifs dans une activité ouverte et ouverte comme celle-ci est un moyen d'accroître l'accès à la compréhension tout en favorisant des niveaux de réflexion plus élevés.

 

Raisonnement sur les formes géométriques

 

Tôt dans la vie, les enfants commencent à explorer avec des formes - regarder une balle colorée rouler sur une diapositive ou sélectionner différents blocks pour construire une grande tour. Il est important de reconnaître ces expériences et de les développer au primaire. Les tâches de demande cognitive de haut niveau «exigent que les élèves aient accès à des connaissances et à des expériences pertinentes et qu’ils les utilisent de manière appropriée tout au long de la tâche» (Smith et Stein, 1998, p. 348). Une de ces tâches qui peut encourager les élèves à appliquer leurs expériences antérieures avec des formes et à les engager dans une réflexion exigeante sur le plan cognitif s'appelle «Quelle forme suis-je?».

 

Le but de cette tâche est d’engager les étudiants à identifier diverses formes en utilisant des attributs de définition. Cette tâche peut être utilisée lorsque les élèves explorent pour la première fois des formes ou plus tard lorsqu'ils ont des expériences avec les noms formels et les attributs de formes bidimensionnelles et tridimensionnelles. Dépendant de l'expérience de vos élèves avec des formes en deux et trois dimensions, ils peuvent utiliser un langage plus informel ou formel pour décrire les différentes formes.

Le matériel pour cette tâche comprend des formes en deux et trois dimensions, des sacs en papier et un tableau à deux colonnes pour chaque élève. Placez une forme dans chaque sac en papier et étiquetez le sac avec un numéro. Certaines formes à inclure sont des cercles, des quadrilatères, des triangles, des cubes, des prismes rectangulaires, des cylindres et des prismes triangulaires.

 

Individuellement ou en binômes, les élèves se rendront à chacun des sacs en papier et découvriront quelle forme se trouve à l'intérieur du sac sans se faire remarquer! Dans la première colonne de leur tableau, les élèves inscriront le numéro sur le sac. Dans la deuxième colonne, les élèves doivent décrire la forme et, s’ils le savent, écrire le nom de la forme. Par exemple, dans un sac avec une sphère, les élèves peuvent remarquer que la forme roule comme une balle et qu'il n'y a pas d'arête ou de face. Les élèves peuvent également dessiner une image de la forme. Cela fournira aux élèves une autre façon de décrire la forme qui se trouve dans le sac et de les inciter à créer une représentation de la forme. En observant vos élèves, vous pourrez voir comment ils utilisent le langage formel pour décrire les différentes formes. Vous pouvez également évaluer de manière formelle la compréhension de vos élèves des différentes formes en posant des questions telles que «Comment avez-vous su que la forme dans le sac a quatre sommets?» ou «Pourquoi pensez-vous que la forme du sac est triangulaire? A travers quel prisme? ».

 

Une fois que les élèves ont exploré les différentes formes, réunissez-les pour la «Grande révélation». Tenez le premier sac et demandez à tous les élèves de regarder leurs papiers. Demandez à des élèves de partager ce qu’ils pensent de la forme et pourquoi. Pour encourager les débats entre étudiants, demandez- leur de compléter les idées de leurs camarades de classe, de poser des questions de clarification et d'être en accord ou en désaccord avec les idées présentées. Une fois que vos élèves ont discuté de ce que pourrait être la forme et pourquoi, demandez à un élève de tendre la main dans le sac et de révéler la forme de la classe. Si les étudiants sont corrects, ce qui les a amenés à identifier la forme avec succès. Si les élèves sont incorrects, discutez de ce qui aurait pu être difficile et de ce qu'ils pourraient faire la prochaine fois pour identifier correctement la forme. Les élèves peuvent ensuite essayer cette stratégie sur le sac suivant. Engager vos élèves dans l'exploration et la discussion de leur raisonnement pour identifier chaque forme peut aider à approfondir leur compréhension des attributs définissant différentes formes.

 

Enseigner avec des tâches exigeantes sur le plan cognitif

 

              L'approche «débuter-explorer-discuter» a commencé à prendre de l'ampleur en tant que moyen efficace d'organiser le processus d'enseignement avec des tâches exigeantes sur le plan cognitif. Le processus implique de lancement ou d'obtenir les étudiants ont commencé une tâche, ce qui permet aux élèves le temps d'explorer collaborativement une tâche avec le soutien, puis de discuter des stratégies et des concepts mathématiques. L'idée d'enseigner directement des concepts ou une mini-leçon sur les stratégies n'existe pas dans ce format. Tout enseignement direct se produirait au fur et à mesure que les élèves partageraient leurs stratégies pendant la discussion ou après la discussion dans le temps ciblé en petits groupes.

Drew Polly

Professeur

Université de Caroline du Nord à Charlotte, Etats-Unis

Madelyn Colonnese

Professeure Assistante

Université de Caroline du Nord

à Charlotte, Etats-Unis

Amanda Casto

Etudiante Doctorale

Université de Caroline du Nord à Charlotte,

Etats-Unis

Wendy Lewis

Etudiante Doctorale

Université de Caroline du Nord à Charlotte, Etats-Unis

References

 

European Commission (2011). Mathematics Education in Europe: Common Challenges and National Policies. Retrieved from: http://eacea.ec.europa.eu/education/eurydice/documents/thematic_reports/132EN.pdf.

Keqiang, X. (2011). Examining changes between China’s 2001 and 2011 mathematics curriculum standards for basic education from 21st century key competencies perspective. Higher Education of Social Science, 9(6), 79-85.

Ministry of Education. (2011). National curriculum standards of mathematics for basic education (2011 edition). Beijing, PRC: Beijing Normal University Publishing Group.

Mullis, I.V.S., Martin, M.O., & Loveless, T. (2016). 20 Years of TIMSS: International Trends in Mathematics and Science Achievement, Curriculum, and Instruction. Retrieved from: http://timssandpirls.bc.edu/timss2015/international-results/timss2015/wp-content/uploads/2016/T15-20-years-of-TIMSS.pdf.

National Research Council. (2001). Adding it up: Helping children learn mathematics. J.Kilpatrick, J. Swafford, and B. Findell (Eds.). Mathematics Learning Study Committee, Center for Education, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.

Noyce Foundation.  (2014).  Problem of the Month:  Digging for Dinosaurs:  Creative Commons.   (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en_US).

OECD (2013). PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do (Volume I): Student Performance in Mathematics, Reading and Science. Retrieved from: http://www.oecd.org/pisa/keyfindings/pisa-2012-results-overview.pdf

Smith, M. S. & Stein, M. K. (1998). Selecting mathematical tasks: From research to practice. Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School, 3(5), 344-350.

Teachers' Hub

The magazine to cross ideas in early childhood education

The Importance of Considering the Mathematical Tasks We Pose to

Young Children

September/2018

Importance of Mathematical Tasks

 

Recent research from the international PISA study indicated students’ mathematics understanding influences opportunities for future schooling as well as better paying and more rewarding jobs (OECD, 2013). Mathematics experts have written that students who are proficient in mathematics are able to demonstrate conceptual understanding, procedural fluency and problem solving skills (National Council for Teachers of Mathematics, 2014). In multiple countries, mathematics standards and recommendations call for teachers to pose more complex mathematical tasks embedded in real-world contexts (European Commission, 2011; Ministry of Education, 2011; Mullis, Martin, & Loveless, 2016;  National Council for Teachers of Mathematics, 2014). Mathematics education experts (NCTM, 2014; Smith & Stein, 1998) in the United States categorize tasks into two broad categories based on their rigor or level of cognitive demand. Within each category there are two more specific types of tasks. These are described in detail in the table below.

 

Table 1: Types of Mathematical Tasks

Examples of Mathematical Tasks

 

 

 

Counting and Cardinality Example

 

One of the most foundational concepts for young children involves counting and cardinality skills. Tasks which integrate attributes of number by embedding real life tasks and measurement and geometry concepts with counting and cardinality help raise the cognitive demand of tasks. One such task for counting and cardinality exposes students to using mathematical reasoning to justify how many dinosaurs are in a hidden picture (see Figure 1).

Figure 1: Example of Digging Dinosaurs Task

Teachers can launch the task by quickly showing the dinosaur image (Figure 1). The teacher might ask students to predict how many dinosaurs are in the photo based on looking at the picture of the 8 feet provided.  In addition to the image of the dinosaur feet, the teacher could also have students build the picture with toy dinosaurs, wiki sticks or cubes. After students predict the amount of dinosaurs in the picture allow students to talk about their prediction before letting them explore the task.

 

As students explore the task, the teacher should engage the students in encouraging them to work with other students and discuss strategies to determine the number of dinosaur legs. Students’ own ways that they explore and represent the picture is the springboard for mathematics discussion after time to explore. Discussing students’ strategies and solutions is a critical element of learning and helps teachers determine if they have developed a deeper understanding of the mathematics concepts. During the discussion of this task, the teacher should pose questions about how students started the task, how they counted the number of legs, and how they know their answer makes sense. After possibly grouping the objects in twos as pairs of legs or counting them one by one, the teacher may opt to give the students a second picture with more than ten legs or a word problem such as a farmer saw 10 legs. He had 1 duck and some pigs.  How many pigs did he have?   Teachers should continue to nurture students to explore numbers so subitizing becomes a more natural process as well as use open questioning so  higher levels of thinking such as creation and connection are applied.

 

After two or three students have shared how they predicted the feet in the image, the teacher can pose questions to the entire class such as: “Can you use words and mathematical language to explain what you did?” and “How do you know your answer makes sense?” When the teacher asks students about the number of legs, this is when counting and cardinality becomes the focus.  They may begin to count by individual legs or groups of two. The question, “Explain how you know you are correct” encourages young learners to think deeply about the number of objects and the context.

 

Joining and Breaking Apart Groups of Objects

 

 Young learners need experiences exploring how to join (compose) or break apart (decompose) numbers and groups of objects. One example of a task involves working with similar (e.g., cubes, blocks, popsicle sticks) with the focus of adding the objects in groups. To begin, the teacher gives the directions to the students: add the objects using groups (2, 5, or 10, for example) to reach the total sum. While adding, the students should pay close attention to how they are grouping the objects. After students have counted their objects by grouping, the next key part of the task requires students to draw a visual representation of their number-composing process on a piece of paper using pictures and symbols. The different representations students draw, supported by explanations of their thought processes, can lead to a rich mathematical discussion as a class about the different ways to compose numbers. To prompt the students while sharing, the teacher can ask questions such as why did you choose this grouping strategy? What does this (pointing to the representation) mean? After two or three students have shared, the teacher can pose follow-up questions to the entire class that may deepen students’ understanding, including how are these strategies (representations) alike? How are they different? or Who can explain (name’s) strategy?

 

A variation of this same task can be used to focus on breaking apart or decomposing numbers, too. After they decompose the original pile into groups, ask the students to arrange the containers in a way that makes sense to them (some students may line them up or put them in groups of two, for example). Students’ arrangements of containers and explanations of sense-making can lead to a rich discussion similar to the first activity. During the discussion, the teacher should be mindful of capturing these ideas and translating them into mathematics language and symbols (for older children). Encouraging students to explore ways to join and break apart numbers in an open-ended, hands-on activity such as this is one way to increase access to understanding while promoting higher levels of thinking.

 

Reasoning about Geometric Shapes

 

Early in life, children begin exploring with shapes– watching a colorful ball roll down a slide or selecting different blocks to build a tall tower. It is important to recognize these experiences and build upon them in elementary school. Higher-level cognitive demand tasks, “require students to access relevant knowledge and experiences and make appropriate use of them in working through the task” (Smith & Stein, 1998, p. 348). One such task that can encourage students to apply their prior experiences with shapes and engage them in cognitively-demanding thinking is called “What Shape Am I?”.

 

The purpose of this task is to engage students in identifying various shapes using defining attributes. This task can be used when students are first exploring shapes or later when they have some experiences with the formal names and attributes of two- and three-dimensional shapes. Depending on your students experience with two- and three-dimensional shapes, they may use more informal or formal language to describe the different shapes.

The materials for this task include two- and three-dimensional shapes, paper bags, and a two-column chart for each student. Place one shape in each paper bag, and label the bag with a number. Some shapes to include are circles, quadrilaterals, triangles, cubes, rectangular prisms, cylinders, and triangular prisms.

 

Individually or in pairs, students will travel to each of the paper bags and find out what shape is inside the bag without peeking! In the first column of their chart, students will write the number on the bag. In the second column, students should describe the shape and if they know, write the name of the shape. For example, in a bag with a sphere, students may notice that the shape rolls like a ball and that there aren’t any edges or faces. Students may also draw a picture of the shape. This will provide students with an alternate way to describe the shape that’s in the bag and engage them in creating a representation of the shape. As you walk around observing your students, you will be able to see how they are progressing in their use of formal language describe the different shapes. You can also formatively assess your students’ understanding of the various shapes by asking questions such as, “How did you know that the shape in the bag has four vertices?” or “Why do you think that the shape in the bag is a triangular prism?”

 

After students have explored the different shapes, bring them together for the “Big Reveal.” Hold up the first bag and have all the students look at their papers. Ask some students to share what they think the shape is and why. To encourage student to student discourse, ask them to add-on to their classmates’ ideas, ask clarifying questions, and agree or disagree with the ideas presented. Once your students have discussed what the shape might be and why, have a student reach into the bag and reveal the shape for the class. If the students are correct review what led them to successfully identifying the shape. If the students are incorrect, discuss what might have been challenging and what they could do next time to correctly identify the shape. The students can then try this strategy out on the next bag. Engaging your students in exploring and discussing their reasoning for identifying each shape can help deepen their understanding of the defining attributes for various shapes.

 

Teaching with Cognitively-Demanding Tasks

 

 The launch-explore-discuss approach has started to gain momentum as an effective way to organize the process of teaching with cognitively-demanding tasks. The process involves launching or getting students started on a task, allowing students time to collaboratively explore a task with support, and then discussing the strategies and mathematics concepts. The idea of directly teaching concepts or a mini lesson about strategies does not exist in this format. Any direct teaching would occur as students share strategies during the discussion or after the discussion in targeted small group time.

 

Drew Polly

Professor

University of North Carolina at

Charlotte, United States

Madelyn Colonnese

Assistant Professor

University of North Carolina at

Charlotte, United States

Amanda Casto

Doctoral Student

University of North Carolina at

Charlotte, United States

Wendy Lewis

Doctoral Student

University of North Carolina at

Charlotte, United States

References

 

European Commission (2011). Mathematics Education in Europe: Common Challenges and National Policies. Retrieved from: http://eacea.ec.europa.eu/education/eurydice/documents/thematic_reports/132EN.pdf.

Keqiang, X. (2011). Examining changes between China’s 2001 and 2011 mathematics curriculum standards for basic education from 21st century key competencies perspective. Higher Education of Social Science, 9(6), 79-85.

Ministry of Education. (2011). National curriculum standards of mathematics for basic education (2011 edition). Beijing, PRC: Beijing Normal University Publishing Group.

Mullis, I.V.S., Martin, M.O., & Loveless, T. (2016). 20 Years of TIMSS: International Trends in Mathematics and Science Achievement, Curriculum, and Instruction. Retrieved from: http://timssandpirls.bc.edu/timss2015/international-results/timss2015/wp-content/uploads/2016/T15-20-years-of-TIMSS.pdf.

National Research Council. (2001). Adding it up: Helping children learn mathematics. J.Kilpatrick, J. Swafford, and B. Findell (Eds.). Mathematics Learning Study Committee, Center for Education, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education. Washington, DC: National Academy Press.

Noyce Foundation.  (2014).  Problem of the Month:  Digging for Dinosaurs:  Creative Commons.   (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/deed.en_US).

OECD (2013). PISA 2012 Results: What Students Know and Can Do (Volume I): Student Performance in Mathematics, Reading and Science. Retrieved from: http://www.oecd.org/pisa/keyfindings/pisa-2012-results-overview.pdf

Smith, M. S. & Stein, M. K. (1998). Selecting mathematical tasks: From research to practice. Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School, 3(5), 344-350.